Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Prize for Best Research Paper

1. About the award

The aim of this award (Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Prize for Best Research Paper), instituted by the AICASE, is to motivate young Indian scientists working in only universities to make outstanding research contributions in any areas of astronomy and astrophysics and to publish the results in any refereed journal of astronomy and astrophysics. The award, to be given annually, consists of a cash prize of Rs.10,000/- and a citation of honor that mentions the name/s of the author/s and the title of the winning research article, duly signed by the current President and the Secretary of the AICASE. The award will be given to the paper published in any refereed astronomy/astrophysics journal.

2. Nomination Criteria

The nominees will be young researchers who have made outstanding contributions in the area of astronomy and astrophysics primarily using Indian facilities. The contribution should be published in any refereed journal. The nominee should have an Indian affiliation for the bulk of the work done. Nominations for the award may be made by the AICASE Fellows, Vice-Chancellors, Deans, Principals, and Directors of the universities.  Only those research articles may be considered for the award, whose first author is an Indian National and whose age does not exceed 40 years.  At the time of each such ‘year of award’ papers published in any refereed journal during the two previous calendar years and satisfying the necessary conditions mentioned below are considered for the award. For example, the papers published during the calendar years 2022 and 2023 are to be considered for the year of award 2024. In case the article is written by more than one author, the prize money will be divided equally among all those authors who are eligible in the sense defined above. Renominations for the same paper will not be considered.

3. Application Procedure

All nominations for the award must be received by the AICASE, by the deadline as indicated on the website of the AICASE. Nominations must be submitted via the online interface on the AICASE website. Nominations can be made by the heads of the institutions and other eminent members of the AICASE.

For the award year 2022, the nominations must be received by 15 Dec 2023. Publications in the years 2022 and 2023 will only be considered. The nominee should be 40 years of age or less as on 31 Dec 2023.

Nominations must include the following material keep ready while submitting the application 

  1. Name of Nominee
  2. Details of Nominee
    1. Affiliation
    2. Corresponding Address
    3. Date of birth
    4. Email id
    5. Mobile number
  3. Academic qualifications
  4. Nomination letter with signature and date
  5. Major scientific result of the publication on which the nomination is based (one paragraph)
  6. Reprint relevant to the recommendation (Only hyperlinks)
  7. Citations of relevance (if any)
  8. Media Coverage (if any) (Only hyperlinks)
  9. Details of Proposer
    1. Name
    2. Designation and Affiliation
    3. Address
    4. Email ID
    5. Phone number


Online form for application

4. Selection Process

A five-member Award Selection Committee (ASC) is constituted by the AICASE ensuring technical and gender representation. Each member of the ASC receives all nominations along with the supporting material. The ASC will communicate the result of its deliberations to the AICASE council within three months following the submission deadline.

5. Result of the Award

The successful nominee will be informed of the decision of the AICASE council and be asked to receive the award and deliver a lecture during the following AICASE meeting.


The List of Past Awardees:

Sr. No.  Year  Awardee Awarded for
1 2026
2 2025
3 2024



Last Updated on December 2, 2022 by Sonkamble Satish