Carl Sagan Prize for Best Thesis (PhD)


1. About the award

The society gives the Carl Sagan Prize for Best Thesis (PhD) Award for an outstanding Ph.D. thesis in Astronomy by an Indian student. The objective of the award is to encourage excellence amongst research students in India. The prize consists of a medal and a citation.

2. Nomination criteria

The thesis should have been formally defended in the period between 01 June and 30 November (18 months). For example, the final thesis viva should have been conducted between 01 June 2022 and 30 November 2023 (both dates included) for the award of the year 2024. All formalities for the award of a degree must be completed at the time of nomination.

3. Application

All nominations for the award must be received by the AICASE, by the deadline as indicated on the website of the AICASE. Nominations must be submitted via the online interface on the AICASE website. Nominations can be made by the heads of the institutions and other eminent members of the AICASE.

For the award year 2024, the nominations must be received by 15 Dec 2023. The nominees should have defended their thesis between 01 June 2022 and 30 November 2023 (inclusive of both dates) for consideration of the award.

Nominations must include the following material:

  1. Name of Nominee
  2. Details of Nominee
    1. Affiliation
    2. Corresponding Address
    3. Date of birth
    4. Email ID
    5. Mobile number
    6. Curriculum vitae of the candidate including full list of publications
  3. Nomination letter with signature and date
  4. Summary of the scientific work constituting the thesis
  5. A statement regarding why the nominator considers the thesis outstanding
  6. List of publications relevant to the Thesis
  7. Reprints relevant to the recommendation (only hyperlinks)
  8. Citations of relevance
  9. Details of the Proposer
    1. Name
    2. Designation and Affiliation
    3. Address
    4. Email
    5. Phone number


Online form for application

4. Selection Process

A panel of five judges duly appointed by the executive council of the society in consultation with the scientific organizing committee of that meeting shall select the outstanding thesis. The panel of judges will communicate the result of its deliberations to the AICASE council.

5. Result of the Award

The Carl Sagan Prize for Best Thesis (PhD) Award for an outstanding Ph.D. thesis will be given at the AICASE meeting and the awardee will be asked to make a short presentation of their thesis work.

The Following List of Past Awardees:

Sr. No. Year Awardee Thesis Title
1 2026
2 2025
3 2024



Last Updated on December 2, 2022 by Sonkamble Satish